island wallpaper travel vacation
ocean island travel logo

Pinterest photos from 'Take a trip here' board of exotic places Tumblr blog from ocean island travel popular spots
Signup or login below...
username:
password: 

facebook login

Comments and Ratings

View all reviews >>>

Activities Review Rating
Emerald Pool
Vera H. 12/26/2013 - "The water at Emerald Pool wasn't as emerald green as pictures show & what people tell you. Maybe it's because the sun wasn't shining directly into it? It was disappointing but I would give it a second chance & go back to see it on a sunny day. There was a nice, gentle waterfall & a cool, cave-like area to play in. "

[3 star]
Boiling Lake
Vera H. 12/26/2013 - "This is rated as a difficult/strenuous hike. It's about 7 hours round trip. There are a lot of steep steps going up & down. I consider myself to be mildly in shape. My quads were definitely burning going up the steps & my knees grumbled going down the steps. I was able to make the entire hike but I did have to stop a couple times to rest & catch my breath. It also rained during our hike which made the steps muddy & slippery. I slipped on the hike back & tweaked my wrists, so be careful! There was one person in our group that had to stop before they got to the Boiling Lake, their legs started cramping up. But we saw a bunch of younger kids just running up the steep steps and they didn't even look tired. Definitely take a guide with you on this one. Our guide showed us where to get the sulphur mud to put on our faces & arms like a mud-mask. He even boiled us some eggs in the hot pools! Also, take a couple changes of clothes (rain jacket, long sleeve shirt, bathing suit & a towel). It was VERY windy in some spots & after it rained on us, it didn't feel good to be cold & wet. But we did get to soak in the warm pools on the way down, it warmed us up & got us relaxed. Made it hard to continue on the hike, haha. I only recommend going if you are in decent shape & not afraid of heights. "

[3 star]
Soufriere-Scotts Head Marine Reserve (SSMR)
Vera H. 12/26/2013 - "This was a cool spot where you can stand between the Caribbean Sea & the Atlantic ocean. The snorkeling was great! The water was clear & there were tons of fish. Some people in our group went on a hike up the hill. Sometimes you can see sea turtles and dolphins around this area (is what we were told by locals)."

[4 star]
Glasse Hiking Trail
Vera H. 12/26/2013 - "This was a lovely & easy hike through the jungle to the ocean. Nothing strenuous on this hike, just great views & awesome tide pools to swim in. Our guide picked us some fruit to eat along our walk & pointed out some flowers & herbs the locals use for medicinal purposes. "

[5 star]
Champagne Reef
Vera H. 12/26/2013 - "This was a great place to snorkel. The bubbles were fun to watch, it did feel like you were in a glass of bubbly champagne. The reef was nice & had lots of fish. Our guide said you can see lots of seahorses here. The beach was clean & safe. There were amenities/facilities close by. There were restrooms, showers, snacks for sale & picnic benches under a shelter. We even saw a pair of iguanas in the trees when we were there. "

[3 star]
Jungle Bay Resort and Spa
Vera H. 12/26/2013 - "This is the place to stay at if you want a retreat to reunite with nature. To me, this was paradise. My body felt clean, mentally & physically after staying here for a week. You fall asleep to the soothing jungle noises & the ocean waves. After dark you can see almost every star in the sky. Wake up to beautiful sunrises & eat the freshest & most delicious food in the Caribbean. You can go on hikes through the jungle to see waterfalls and then relax in a hammock by the ocean or on your patio. Talk to the locals and learn about them & you will see why they are proud of their nature island. Jungle Bay gives you the ability to have all this, to feel comfortable in natural surroundings & be eco-friendly with such ease that you don't feel you are deprived of anything. Everything you need is right there. The entire staff is very friendly & are eager to make sure you are enjoying all that Dominica has to offer. Jungle Bay has arrived at the perfect formula for eco-luxury. Dominica is one of world's best kept secrets. Jungle Bay is the perfect place to explore & experience this unspoiled, natural gem of an island. You will feel like you are living a dream & will not want to ever leave. "

[5 star]
Bubble Bay Spa
Vera H. 12/19/2013 - "We stopped at the Bubble Bay Spa to have a picnic after snorkeling at Champagne Beach. Bubble Bay was a fantastic little natural hot pool. You get a great view of the bay & the mountains while you soak in the calm,warm waters. The water & the beach were very clean. I overheard other people talking about another hot pool farther up the mountain in Soufriere. But they said it was a bunch of cement pools that seemed dirty. I'm glad we went to the Bubble Bay Spa :D"

[4 star]
Trafalgar Falls
Vera H. 12/19/2013 - "Take your bathing suit & water shoes when you go to this place. Also, make sure to get there early, before 10am if possible. This is a popular place for the people on the cruise ships to go to. I didn't know this when I went there around 12pm and it was PACKED with tourists! I still enjoyed soaking & relaxing in the hot pools. You are surrounded by beautiful tropical trees & foliage. "

[4 star]
Victoria Falls
Vera H. 12/19/2013 - "This was my most favorite hike! It was a little difficult in the sense that you need to have good balance & agility to maneuver over some of the slippery rocks & cross through the river a couple times. You will get wet! I was soaked up to my waist. And once you make it to the thunderous waterfall, it is pure bliss. Victoria Falls is even more beautiful up close. We swam in the water next to the waterfall but you can't get under the waterfall, it's very powerful. It felt like we were in a tropical storm, haha. We were all laughing trying to get as close as we could, but the force of the falls pushes you away. Victoria Falls is a must see."

[5 star]
Zom Zom Trail
Vera H. 12/19/2013 - "This is a decent trail that you can go on without a guide. It's a great way to get your heart pumping if you're looking for some exercise. I was scared at first to go down the difficult part (where you have to use a rope to get down a slightly steep area). But it wasn't that bad once I got going. There are great views at the end of the trail. I could've sat there for hours watching the giant waves roll into the rocks & the shore. When you are going back, keep an eye out for markers that help point the way. When making your way back to Jungle Bay, after the rope climb back up the steep area, keep to your right to get back on the trail."

[3 star]
Birdnestudios
Vera H. 7/14/2012 - "Without a doubt, this was the best all around place I've ever stayed at. We were welcomed by Waldo and given a tour of the "Pitirre" and the surrounding lush, tropical gardens. In the apt, Waldo has compiled a notebook filled with info. about the island (places to eat, things to do, etc.) and also tells you about all the amenities that are available to the guests. Waldo is a fabulous & generous host that knows how to make guests feel comfortable, he has thought of everything possible to make your stay pleasurable. I will definitely recommend Bird Nest Studios to and would love to come back and stay again."

[5 star]
Fitzroy Island Resort
Vera H. 4/3/2011 - "The rooms are modern and clean. The staff was very accommodating and will hold your luggage if you can't check into your room. If you spend the night, be prepared to stay the whole day, since there was only one ferry that leaves per day (around 5pm). The restaurant was very good. The food was a little pricey, but tasted fresh. Movie night was held in the small theater every night, and had options for kids and adults. The laundry was free, you only had to pay for detergent. We also liked the fish feeding off the pier, which happens once or twice daily. They will also help reserve a day trip, and a ferry will pick you up at the resort and take you to the Great Barrier reef, and get you back in time for the trip back to the mainland."

[3 star]



View all contests >>>


Random User Comments

Kay J. wrote about Pine Haven Hotel :

"Pine Haven Hotel is close to the town and very accessible. The furniture used in this hotel are locally made and that made me admire the locals who made them and Pieter, the owner who designed each piece beautifully. The place is clean and pleasantly comfortable. The owners make you feel like you're part of the family. I'll surely visit again someday.

SPECIALS

Ways to save
Nautilus Resort - Ways to save

View all specials >>>

Top Reviewers (All)
UsernameReviews
Brion H. 62 
Vera H. 12 
Diane D. 10 
Kay J. 10 
Angelica Louise A. 4 

Random Activity


Nukulaelae (Tuvalu)

Explore This Island


Chuuk (Truk)

Latest News

 
 

 

Ocean Island Travel ©2021 : Home | Interactive Map | Reviews | Contests | Specials | Blog | Advertise | About | Privacy | Contact

 


Website developed and hosted by
Ocean Island Travel : Where your friends haven't gone!